Award for outstanding data management initiatives

The CDQ Good Practice Award

The CDQ Good Practice Award acknowledges world-class and innovative data management initiatives paving the way for digital and data-driven enterprises. The award is an initiative of the Competence Center Corporate Data Quality (CC CDQ) and the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM), supported by a global jury of international data experts from practice and academia.

CDQ Good Practice Award
Your benefits

Three reasons why your company should apply

Significantly increase awareness for data management across your organization and beyond.

 Receive valuable feedback on your data initiative from renowned experts.

 Exchange views, receive high-quality insights and network with peers from the CC CDQ community.

How to participate?

Your way to become an award winner

  1. Download the CDQ Good Practice Award submission form:

    Download now
  2. Describe your initiative
  3. Turn in your submission by September 30, 2024, by using our contact form

       Submit your good practice now!

FAQ CDQ Good Practice Award

Each good practice description submitted will be evaluated against these three criteria:

Data Excellence:
The good practice description you submit should provide evidence of the data excellence of your project. Data quality (defined as data’s fitness for a specific purpose) may be a central, but not the only topic your project addresses. Focusing on other aspects – such as data security, data protection, or compliance issues – is also highly welcome.

Business Value:
Your good practice description should demonstrate that your project has sustainable business value. Also outline how your project contributes to the transformation of your organization into a digital, data-driven enterprise.

Make sure your good practice description provides a clear picture of how your project marks a substantial change in the way your organization is doing data management. Also outline how your project lays the foundation for further steps of innovation to be expected in your organization.

Each good practice description submitted will be evaluated by at least three members of the international jury. The three best-rated good practices make it into the final round of the competition.

The good practice descriptions of the three finalists will then be evaluated again, this time by all jury members. This part of the evaluation counts 50% of the overall score. In addition, the three finalists will present their good practices at the CC CDQ Workshop on November 29, 2023. The presentations will be evaluated by each CC CDQ member organization attending the workshop (using the same evaluation criteria as the jury). That part of the evaluation also counts 50% of the overall score. If two good practices achieve the same score, the chairwoman of the jury, Prof. Christine Legner, will make a final evaluation and decide which one is to be ranked higher. The good practice achieving the highest score will be declared the winner of the CDQ Good Practice Award.

The award will be handed over to the winner at the CDQ Good Practice Award ceremony taking place in the evening of the same day the presentations are held (November 29, 2023). Apart from the winner, the two other finalists will also attend the event

CDQ Good Practice Award: Hall of Fame

Geberit Logo
Geberit end-to-end assortment management
Schaeffler logo
Master Data Management @Schaeffler
Bosch Logo
Bosch Data Quality Services Platform
AstraZeneca logo
Product data at AstraZeneca: Implementation of global governance
Better business performance by integrating Master Data Management as a natural part of business processes

Jury of the CDQ Good Practice Award

Prof. Dr. Christine Legner
Prof. Dr. Christine Legner (Chairwoman)
HEC Lausanne - Faculty of Business and Economics of the University of Lausanne
Dr. Matthias Roggendorf
Dr. Matthias Roggendorf
Partner at McKinsey & Company
Markus Spiekermann
Markus Spiekermann
Fraunhofer Institute for Software and Systems Engineering
Geert Opdenbosch
Geert Opdenbosch
European Foundation for Quality Management
Ismael Caballero Muñoz-Reja
Ismael Caballero Muñoz-Reja
Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
C. Lwanga Yonke
C. Lwanga Yonke
Information Quality Practitioner
Prof. Andy Koronios
Prof. Andy Koronios
CEO & Managing Director at SmartSat CRC